Indian Artist ‘Dhaneshwar Shah’

16 05 2010

Dhaneshwar Shah was born in 1979, in New Delhi, India. He completed his M.F.A. and B.F.A. at the College of Art, New Delhi. He was given an award from UNESCO, ‘Art Award for Italy’ in 2008, ‘National award for Painting, India’ in 2006, ‘M. F. Husain Award’ , India in 2005, and ‘AIFACS’ , India in 2005.

Animals have occupied a very permanent place in his canvases for a long time. Like old Christian paintings, he has shown Ox and Donkey as a part of his narrative. In old Hindu paintings, sculptures and murals, Lord Vishnu represents the aspect of Matsyavatara and Kurmavatara to symbolise various incarnations. A painting never speaks very directly and it contains lots of hidden layers installed by the Artist from his perceptions past or present.

Dhaneshwar Shah says

“In my paintings, you can easily discover the small visual elements from my surroundings. I am physically attached to them. These elements are witnesses of the moment and place; they often step into my painting subconsciously and spontaneously.

I forgot the first time when I drew and painted an animal form but I am sure about those forms in my childhood doodles, done on walls, buried deep in various whitewash layers, they might be still there and breathing, I guess.

I remember in study classes in my college days, the human model used to pose like a dead man unlike the birds on windows which were more inspiring and alive. I started to study those bird forms; they had a feeling of motion. They were more spontaneous and energetic”.

Enjoy his work images!!

‘Tree-green’, acrylic on canvas, 60″ x 48″

‘Deer with red’, acrylic on canvas, 60″ x 48″


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 01 2011
sunanda

its nice work ,all the best….

19 01 2011
Oriental VisArt

Thanks a lot for your comment. Have a great day!

Leave a comment